Tuesday 16 November 2021 7:30PM

Brentano String Quartet

Bruce Adolphe, Haydn, Schubert and Steven Mackey


Priority Booking for this concert will open to Friends of Wigmore Hall from Wednesday 22 September at 10:00AM. For a full breakdown of booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Monday 4 October.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Brentano String Quartet
  • Serena Canin violin
  • Mark Steinberg violin
  • Misha Amory viola
  • Nina Maria Lee cello

The second Brentano programme brings together classic works with contemporary music. Both of the modern works are products of a commission from the quartet in its Bach Perspectives project, which took The Art of Fugue as a point of origin. Well-known figures in American musical life, Bruce Adolphe and Steven Mackey each made a personal response to particular elements of the celebrated contrapuntal masterpiece.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in D Op. 71 No. 2
  • Bruce Adolphe (b.1955)
      • ContraDiction - a reaction to Bach’s Art of the Fugue, Contrapunctus No. 2
  • Steven Mackey (b.1956)
      • 'Lude
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • String Quartet in G D887

We also recommend