Wednesday 14 September 2022 7:30PM

Brentano String Quartet

de Lassus, Gesualdo, Mico and more


This concert is approximately 50 minutes in duration, without an interval.


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Brentano String Quartet
  • Mark Steinberg violin
  • Serena Canin violin
  • Misha Amory viola
  • Nina Maria Lee cello

Specialists in themed events, the ensemble places transcribed choral works by medieval and Renaissance masters alongside instrumental compositions by the English Richard Mico (1590-1661), and a 2001 arrangement of his 15th-century Franco-Flemish predecessor by the American Charles Wuorinen (1938-2020).

  • Johannes Ockeghem (c.1410-1497)
      • Ave Maria
  • Charles Wuorinen (1938-2020)
      • Josquiniana
        • (based on Josquin des Prez)
  • Orlande de Lassus (c.1530-1594)
      • Prophetiae Sibyllarum
        • Prologue 'Carmina Chromatico'
  • Richard Mico (c.1590-1661)
      • Fancy No. 5
  • Orlande de Lassus
      • Prophetiae Sibyllarum
        • Sibylla Cimmeria
  • Richard Mico
      • Fancy No. 9
  • Orlande de Lassus
      • Prophetiae Sibyllarum
        • Sibylla Persica
  • Richard Mico
      • Fancy No. 7
  • Orlande de Lassus
      • Jubilate Deo omnis terra a4
  • Carlo Gesualdo (c.1561-1613)
      • Asciugate i begli occhi
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
      • O voi, troppo felici
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
      • Tu m’uccidi, o crudele
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
  • Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
      • Lamento d'Arianna: Lasciatemi morire
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
      • Ohimè il bel viso, ohimè il soave sguardo SV112
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
      • Sestina: Lagrime d’amante al sepolcro dell’amata SV111
        • Ditelo, o fiumi, e voi ch'udiste Glauco (arranged by Mark Steinberg)
      • Zefiro torna e’l bel tempo rimena SV108
        • (arranged by Mark Steinberg)

We also recommend