Saturday 24 April 2021 11:30AM

Brian Elias Focus Day

Brian Elias, Lutyens and Ravel


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Mimi Doulton soprano
  • Thomas Hancox flute
  • Jon Carnac clarinet
  • Olivia Jageurs harp
  • Rob Burton saxophone
  • Daniel Lebhardt piano
  • Castalian String Quartet
  • Sini Simonen violin
  • Daniel Roberts violin
  • Charlotte Bonneton viola
  • Christopher Graves cello

The first of two special focus concerts on the British composer’s chamber music begins with his 1973 work for solo soprano, inspired by Robert Browning’s ‘The Ring and the Book’. The poem tells of a count on trial for murdering his daughter and his adulterous wife, in an effort to preserve his honour. The concert ends with Elias’s String Quartet, first performed in 2013 by the Jerusalem String Quartet.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of soprano Jane Manning (1938 – 2021).

For access to a special film by Barrie Gavin about the life and work of Brian Elias, ‘A Passage From India’, please email [email protected] and you will be sent a private link.

  • Brian Elias (b.1948)
      • Peroration for soprano
      • L'innominata
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
      • Introduction et Allegro
  • Brian Elias
      • Arioso
  • Elisabeth Lutyens (1906-1983)
      • Requiescat for soprano and string trio
  • Brian Elias
      • String Quartet

We also recommend