Saturday 24 April 2021 3:00PM

Brian Elias Focus Day

Brian Elias and Debussy


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Kathryn Rudge mezzo-soprano
  • Olivia Jageurs harp
  • Rob Burton alto saxophone
  • Daniel Lebhardt piano
  • Gabriele Strata piano
  • Thomas Hancox flute
  • Jon Carnac clarinet
  • Adrian Spillett percussion
  • Castalian String Quartet
  • Sini Simonen violin
  • Daniel Roberts violin
  • Charlotte Bonneton viola
  • Christopher Graves cello
  • Thomas Kemp conductor

The second concert in Wigmore Hall’s Brian Elias Focus Day culminates in Geranos. The piece takes its name from the ancient Greek word for ‘crane’ and takes inspiration from dance forms that, according to legend, were devised by Theseus. The concert also features Pythikos Nomos, Elias’s work for saxophone and piano which draws on another ancient Greek musical form, first used to depict the battle between Apollo and the monster on the slopes of Parnassus.

For access to a special film by Barrie Gavin about the life and work of Brian Elias, ‘A Passage From India’, please email [email protected] and you will be sent a private link.

  • Brian Elias (b.1948)
      • Meet Me in the Green Glen
      • Pythikos Nomos
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
      • Préludes Book I
        • Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir
        • Les collines d'Anacapri
        • Des pas sur la neige
  • Brian Elias
      • Three Songs (Christina Rossetti)
      • Geranos

We also recommend