Friday 4 June 2021 7:30PM

Britten Oboe Quartet

Françaix, Mark Simpson, Mozart and Thea Musgrave


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Britten Oboe Quartet

Mark Simpson’s Oboe Quartet was premièred at Wigmore Hall in June 2019 and is dedicated to Nicholas Daniel, founder of the Britten Oboe Quartet. Thea Musgrave has this to say about her 2008 work, Cantilena: 'The work is a short, lyrical piece where an outsider (the oboe) joins the group (a string trio) and adds to their dialogue. At first the newcomer is treated with a mixture of suspicion and agitation, but eventually is made welcome.'

  • Thea Musgrave (b.1928)
      • Cantilena
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Flute Quartet No. 3 in C K285b
  • Mark Simpson (b.1988)
      • Oboe Quartet
  • Jean Françaix (1912-1997)
      • Cor Anglais Quartet

We also recommend