Wednesday 20 January 2016 1:00PM

Britten Sinfonia

Bach, Ligeti, Anna Clyne and Salvatore Sciarrino


Change of Artist
Due to unforeseen circumstances, Nicholas Daniel (oboe) is no longer able to take part in this concert. He will be replaced by Marios Argiros.

Confirmation of Programme
The programme for this concert has now been confirmed as listed below.


  • Britten Sinfonia
  • Julia Doyle soprano
  • Marios Argiros oboe
  • Jacqueline Shave violin
  • Miranda Dale violin
  • Clare Finnimore viola
  • Caroline Dearnley cello
  • Maggie Cole harpsichord

Preoccupation with texture permeates this programme, arising with two arias from J S Bach. Ligeti’s Continuum tests the exhilarating knife-edge between identifying individual notes and hearing continuous sound.

A London première from Grammy-nominated composer, Anna Clyne, whose music seeks to explore resonant soundscapes and propelling textures, completes the journey from the baroque to the present.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Cantata BWV187
        • Gott versorget alles Leben
  • Salvatore Sciarrino (b.1947)
        • Due arie notturne dal campo (arr. of two arias by A Scarlatti)
  • Arvo Pärt (b.1935)
        • Fratres
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Cantata BWV21
        • Seufzer, Tränen, Kummer, Not
  • György Ligeti (1923-2006)
        • Continuum
  • Anna Clyne (b.1980)
        • This Lunar Beauty (London première) [1]
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Cantata: Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut BWV199
        • Tief gebückt und voller Reue
  1. Co-commissioned by Britten Sinfonia with the support of donors to the Musically Gifted campaign, and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend