Wednesday 6 February 2019 7:30PM

Britten Sinfonia

Mozart, Skryabin, Britten, Matthews and Strauss

Booking information

This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Britten Sinfonia

Especially renowned for its vivid interpretations of 20th-century and contemporary music, Britten Sinfonia gives the première of a new work by Colin Matthews, a long-time associate of Britten, whose 1936 work for oboe and piano features in Matthews’ arrangement.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546
  • Aleksandr Skryabin (1872-1915)
        • Rêverie Op. 24 (arr. Colin Matthews) (world première)
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Temporal Variations (arr. Colin Matthews)
  • Interval
  • Colin Matthews (b.1946)
        • Octet (world première) [1]
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Metamorphosen for string septet
  1. Co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and The Radcliffe Trust

We also recommend