Wednesday 13 February 2019 1:00PM

Britten Sinfonia

Bach, Janácek, Messiaen, Finnis and Martinu


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Britten Sinfonia
  • Emer McDonough flute
  • Thomas Gould violin
  • Caroline Dearnley cello
  • Huw Watkins piano

Edmund Finnis’s music displays a fascination with sound and melodic patterns, and his new chamber work promises to intrigue. The programme traces chamber music’s roots back to Bach’s diverse exploration of the sonata form in Violin Sonata No. 1, via Martinu’s kaleidoscopic trio sonata.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Violin Sonata No. 1 in B minor BWV1014
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • Pohádka
  • Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
        • Le merle noir
  • Edmund Finnis (b.1984)
        • New work (world première) [1]
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959)
        • Sonata for flute, violin and piano
  1. Co-commissioned by Britten Sinfonia with the support of donors to the Musically Gifted campaign, and by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grantmaking foundation

We also recommend