Wednesday 19 April 2017 1:00PM

Britten Sinfonia; Nicholas Daniel oboe

Britten Sinfonia At Lunch

Additional notes

There is a free pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 12:15pm. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 to obtain your ticket.

Booking information

  • Concessions are available. More information
  • All 2016/17 concerts in the Britten Sinfonia At Lunch series are now open for booking.
  • All 2016/17 concerts in the Contemporary series are now open for booking.
  • Duration

    This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


    Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

    • Britten Sinfonia
    • Nicholas Daniel oboe

    This programme, centred on the artistry of renowned oboist Nicholas Daniel, features a new work by Brian Elias co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and Britten Sinfonia, together with Finzi’s intimate yet cinematic Interlude and Mozart’s String Quintet in C minor, in which the oboe takes the role of first violin.

    • Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
          • Interlude for oboe and string quartet Op. 21
    • Brian Elias (b.1948)
          • Oboe Quintet (world première) [1]
    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
          • String Quintet in C minor K406
    1. Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

    We also recommend