Monday 12 March 2018 1:00PM

Calidore String Quartet

Mozart, Caroline Shaw and Shostakovich


  • Calidore String Quartet is a member of Radio 3's New Generation Artists scheme

Described by Gramophone as representing ‘the epitome of confidence and finesse’, the Calidore String Quartet offers a fascinating programme, moving from Mozart’s delightful early Divertimento to Shostakovich’s Ninth Quartet by way of Caroline Shaw’s First Essay, a celebration of chaos and creativity.

  • BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Divertimento in F major K138
  • Caroline Shaw (b.1982)
        • First Essay: Nimrod
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 9 in E flat major Op. 117

We also recommend