Monday 28 September 2020 1:00PM

Carducci String Quartet

Haydn, Glass and Shostakovich


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Carducci String Quartet

Philip Glass composed his second string quartet 17 years after his first, although it was initially conceived not as chamber music, but for theatre – a piece of instrumental music for Fred Neumann's adaptation of Samuel Beckett's 1979 novella Company, hence its alias. The Carducci String Quartet precede the work with Haydn’s Op. 33 No. 2 (nicknamed for Haydn’s wrong-footing his audience) and follow with Shostakovich’s Ninth String Quartet, influenced by the famous gallop from Rossini’s William Tell Overture.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in E flat Op. 33 No. 2 'The Joke'
  • Philip Glass (b.1937)
        • String Quartet No. 2 'Company'
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 9 in E flat Op. 117

We also recommend