Sunday 11 July 2021 11:30AM

Carducci String Quartet

Beethoven, Haydn and Shostakovich


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Carducci String Quartet
  • Matthew Denton violin
  • Michelle Fleming violin
  • Eoin Schmidt-Martin viola
  • Emma Denton cello

Founded in 1997, the internationally renowned Anglo-Irish string quartet returns to Wigmore Hall with a programme which opens with the fourth of Haydn’s Op. 76 quartets, nicknamed ‘Sunrise’ for its rising theme at the start of the music. Shostakovich’s seventh quartet, composed in 1960, is dedicated to the memory of his first wife, Nina. Beethoven’s 'Serioso' stems from the composer’s title Quartett Serioso at the beginning.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in B flat Op. 76 No. 4 'Sunrise' 78
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor Op. 108
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • String Quartet No. 11 in F minor Op. 95 'Serioso'

We also recommend