Saturday 22 January 2022 7:30PM

Carducci String Quartet



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Carducci String Quartet
  • Matthew Denton violin
  • Michelle Fleming violin
  • Eoin Schmidt-Martin viola
  • Emma Denton cello

The Fifth Quartet (1952) and its successor (1956) both make use of Shostakovich’s musical name: DS [E flat] CH [B natural]. His shortest quartet, the Seventh (1960) is a memorial to his first wife Nina, who died in 1954. Also composed in 1960, though in Dresden, the Eighth Quartet is officially dedicated to ‘the victims of Fascism and war’, though commentators have noted other, darker and more personal meanings.

  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • String Quartet No. 5 in B flat Op. 92
      • String Quartet No. 6 in G Op. 101
  • Interval
      • String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor Op. 108
      • String Quartet No. 8 in C minor Op. 110

We also recommend