Sunday 23 January 2022 7:30PM

Carducci String Quartet



This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Carducci String Quartet
  • Matthew Denton violin
  • Michelle Fleming violin
  • Eoin Schmidt-Martin viola
  • Emma Denton cello

Shostakovich began his Fourteenth Quartet on a visit to stay with his admired colleague Benjamin Britten in Aldeburgh in 1972 and completed it in Leningrad the following year. The final quartet (the composer intended to write 24 – one in each key) was written in 1974 during a period of increasing ill health; it consists of a sequence of six adagios, the penultimate one a funeral march.

  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • String Quartet No. 14 in F sharp Op. 142
  • Interval
      • String Quartet No. 15 in E flat minor Op. 144

We also recommend