Wednesday 19 June 1901 8:30PM

Carl Weber piano; Sobrino soprano; Napoleone Zardo baritone; Lionel Tertis viola; Cuthbert Flamank accompanist

JS Bach, Berlioz, Strauss and more


  • Carl Weber piano* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Sobrino soprano* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Napoleone Zardo baritone* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Lionel Tertis viola* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Cuthbert Flamank accompanist* *Wigmore Hall Debut

Carl Weber was born in London, son of the organist at St. James's Palace, and as a young man had played for Queen Victoria at Windsor Castle. He studied in Vienna and by the time of this Wigmore Hall debut had been for many years a recognised solo performer and accompanist, the latter in particular due to his appearances with Nellie Melba.

In this evening concert he was joined by two acclaimed singers of the time – the Italian baritone and composer Napoleone Zardo (performing two of his own works) and the German soprano Madame Sobrino, whose operatic career saw her as prima donna with both the Royal Opera House and the Carl Rosa Company. This concert also marks the first appearance at Wigmore Hall of the legendary viola player Lionel Tertis.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Chromatic fantasia and fugue BWV903
  • Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
      • Les nuits d'été
        • Absence
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Ständchen Op. 17 No. 2
  • Alexander Campbell Mackenzie (1847-1935)
        • Lift my spirit up to thee Op. 31 No. 9
  • Anton Rubinstein (1829-1894)
        • Viola Sonata in F minor Op. 49
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Don Giovanni K527
        • La ci darem la mano
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
        • Nocturne in F sharp minor Op. 48 No. 2
        • Etude in A flat major
        • Ballade No. 1 in G minor Op. 23
  • Napoleone Zardo (1854-1913)
        • The end of a dream
        • Zanze mine
  • Hamish MacCunn (1868-1916)
        • Three Scottish Dances Op. 28
  • Moritz Moszkowski (1854-1925)
        • Barcarolle in G major Op. 27 No. 1
  • Nikolay Rubinstein (1835-1881)
        • Valse in A flat major Op. 16

We also recommend