Tuesday 25 October 2022 1:00PM

Carolyn Sampson soprano; Joseph Middleton piano

Britten, Huw Watkins, Poulenc and Purcell


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Carolyn Sampson soprano
  • Joseph Middleton piano

The much admired soprano and her collaborative pianist offer a mix of French and English song, with three new Purcell transcriptions emulating a classic example by Britten.

  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • Canticle I: My beloved is mine Op. 40
      • Fancie
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
      • Fancy
      • 2 poèmes de Louis Aragon
  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • The Fairy Queen Z629
        • Hark! the echoing air (realised by Benjamin Britten)
      • Incidental music for Oedipus, King of Thebes Z583
        • Music for a while (arranged by Detlev Glanert) (world première)
      • The Fairy Queen Z629
        • A thousand several ways (arranged by Cheryl Frances-Hoad) (world première)
      • King Arthur Z628
        • Fairest Isle (arranged by Stephen Hough) (world première)
  • Francis Poulenc
      • Métamorphoses
  • Huw Watkins (b.1976)
      • 5 Larkin Songs
  • Francis Poulenc
      • Fiançailles pour rire

We also recommend