Friday 25 September 2020 1:00PM

Carolyn Sampson soprano; Matthew Wadsworth lute

Anon, Traditional, Dowland and more


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Carolyn Sampson soprano
  • Matthew Wadsworth lute

Soprano Carolyn Sampson and lutenist Matthew Wadsworth present a programme of some of their favourite 17th-century songs, touching all corners of society, from plaintive folk songs and ballads to the genius and depths of Dowland, Johnson and Purcell. Music has always been played and heard everywhere; in the street, at home, in religious settings and in the theatre, just like today. At the centre of the programme is Echos in air by Laura Snowden – a wonderfully hypnotic work for solo theorbo, written for Matthew Wadsworth in 2019.

  • Anon
        • I will give my love an apple
        • Paggington's Pound
  • Traditional
        • Greensleeves
  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • Fortune my foe
        • In darkness let me dwell
        • If my complaints could passions move
  • Robert Johnson (c.1583-1633)
        • Away delights
        • Oh, let us howl
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • O solitude, my sweetest choice Z406
  • Laura Snowden
        • Echoes In Air
  • Henry Purcell
        • The Fatal Hour Z421
        • From silent shades, and the Elysian groves (Bess of Bedlam) Z370
        • Now that the sun hath veiled his light (An Evening Hymn on a Ground) Z193
  • Encore
  • Robert Johnson
        • Have you seen the bright lily grow?

We also recommend