Wednesday 25 October 2017 7:30PM

Carolyn Sampson soprano; The King's Consort

The Genius of Purcell


  • Carolyn Sampson soprano
  • The King's Consort
  • Robert King conductor
  • Cecilia Bernardini violin
  • Huw Daniel violin
  • Reiko Ichise bass viol
  • Lynda Sayce theorbo

Hailed by The Times for its stylish and exuberant Purcell performances, The King’s Consort joins forces with soprano Carolyn Sampson for a programme which combines some of the composer’s most extraordinary chamber music with cherished vocal jewels.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Sonata in Four Parts No. 3 in A minor Z804
        • If music be the food of love
      • Incidental music for Oedipus, King of Thebes Z583
        • Music for a while
        • Trio Sonata in G minor
        • Not all my torments can your pity move Z400
        • Oh! fair Cedaria, hide those eyes Z402
        • Sonata in Four Parts No. 4 in D minor Z805
      • King Arthur Z628
        • Fairest Isle
  • Interval
        • Sonata in Four Parts No. 9 in F major Z810
        • O solitude, my sweetest choice Z406
        • Sonata in Four Parts No. 6 in G minor Z807
        • Incassum, Lesbia, incassum rogas (Ode on the death of Queen Mary) Z383
        • Sonata in Four Parts No. 1 in B minor Z802
        • If music be the food of love
      • The Fairy Queen Z629
        • If Love's a sweet passion
  • Encore
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
        • Now that the sun hath veiled his light (An Evening Hymn on a Ground) Z193

We also recommend