Sunday 12 May 2019 11:30AM

Castalian String Quartet

Britten and Schubert


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16concs£14 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Castalian String Quartet

Over the last few years, the Castalian Quartet has won a number of awards that testify to its excellence within a crowded field; its programme comprises Britten’s 1945 masterpiece and a popular work by a composer Britten particularly loved. Schubert’s quartet refers to more than one of his songs, while its slow movement is a set of variations on a theme from his incidental music to the play Rosamunde.

  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in C Op. 36
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quartet in A minor D804 'Rosamunde'

We also recommend