Tuesday 30 June 2020 7:30PM

Castalian String Quartet

Brahms and Schumann

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information
Supported by Classic FM.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Castalian String Quartet

Winner of the Young Artist category at the 2019 Royal Philharmonic Society Awards, the Castalian String Quartet continues its Brahms series with two of the composer's quartets Op. 51 (1865-73) on either side of Schumann’s final quartet of his set of three (1842). Prior to the Op. 51 works, Brahms had apparently composed as many as 20 quartets – all subsequently destroyed because they failed to meet his high standards.

  • All concerts featuring the Castalian String Quartet in the 2019/20 Brahms Series are supported by a contribution from Sir Siegmund Warburg's Voluntary Settlement
  • The Brahms Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quartet in C minor Op. 51 No. 1
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • String Quartet in A Op. 41 No. 3
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 51 No. 2

We also recommend