Tuesday 21 May 2019 7:30PM

Castalian String Quartet; Anthony Marwood violin; Aleksandar Madžar piano



  • Castalian String Quartet
  • Anthony Marwood violin
  • Aleksandar Madžar piano

An all-Elgar programme from the Castalian Quartet with their guests brings together three works completed in sequence in 1918, during the final period of the composer’s creativity, and representing his distinctive voice at its most personal and intimate. Both the String Quartet and the Piano Quintet had their first public performances at Wigmore Hall on this day in 1919.

  • With grateful thanks to the Patron, Benefactor and Supporter Friends of Wigmore Hall
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
        • Violin Sonata in E minor Op. 82
        • String Quartet in E minor Op. 83
  • Interval
        • Piano Quintet in A minor Op. 84

We also recommend