Wednesday 26 February 2020 7:30PM

Castalian String Quartet; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Schumann and Brahms


  • Castalian String Quartet
  • Cédric Tiberghien piano

In a programme in which it is partnered by Cédric Tiberghien in Schumann’s ebullient quintet, the impressive Castalian String Quartet, which has won numerous awards since its formation in 2011, explores Brahms’ final quartet (1876) and the second of three by his mentor Schumann (1842).

Watch the Castalian Quartet perform with Stephen Hough as part of his Brahms Series.

  • Supported by the members of the Rubinstein Circle
  • All concerts featuring the Castalian String Quartet in the 2019/20 Brahms Series are supported by a contribution from Sir Siegmund Warburg's Voluntary Settlement
  • The Brahms Series is made possible with support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • String Quartet in F Op. 41 No. 2
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • String Quartet in B flat Op. 67
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann
        • Piano Quintet in E flat Op. 44

Related Series