Thursday 15 April 2021 7:30PM

Chiaroscuro Quartet

Haydn, Mendelssohn and Purcell


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Chiaroscuro Quartet

Purcell’s fifteen Fantazias only survive as a manuscript which is in the British Museum. Purcell was only 21 when he wrote them in June 1680; the young composer did not even attempt to have them published – in fact, they were not published until 1927. Like Purcell, Mendelssohn was very young when he wrote his Op. 12 – he was still only 20, and this was his first published string quartet.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • Fantasia a 4 No. 7 in C minor Z738
      • Fantasia a 4 No. 11 in G Z742
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in B minor Op. 33 No. 1
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • String Quartet in E flat Op. 12
  • Encore
  • Joseph Haydn
      • The Joke 38
        • II. Scherzo: Allegro 38

We also recommend