Thursday 23 June 2022 7:30PM

Chiaroscuro Quartet; Cédric Tiberghien fortepiano

Beethoven, Mozart and Schubert


Additional Artist
Cédric Tiberghien (fortepiano) will be joining Chiaroscuro Quartet for the above concert. The programme has therefore changed and will now be as follows:

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Chiaroscuro Quartet
  • Alina Ibragimova violin
  • Pablo Hernán Benedí violin
  • Emilie Hörnlund viola
  • Claire Thirion cello
  • Cédric Tiberghien fortepiano

Performing music of the Classical and early Romantic periods on gut strings and with historical bows are the hallmarks of an ensemble that Gramophone has described as ‘a trailblazer for the authentic performance of High Classical chamber music’; for its part, The Observer has called the result ‘a shock to the ears of the best kind.’ The group’s programme includes a rare outing for one (1858) of the seven quartets by Emilie Mayer, a German composer much admired for her instrumental compositions during her lifetime (1812-83).

  • In memory of Peter Flatter
    We are very grateful to those of you who have chosen to support Wigmore Hall with a gift in your Will. All gifts matter. Please contact us if this is something you would like to do, we would love to hear from you. [email protected]
  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • String Quartet in C minor D703 'Quartettsatz'
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Piano Concerto No. 12 in A K414
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • String Quartet No. 7 in F Op. 59 No. 1 ‘Razumovsky‘

We also recommend