Sunday 3 April 2022 7:30PM

Chineke! Chamber Ensemble

Coleridge-Taylor, Deborah Cheetham, Rheinberger and Still


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Chineke! Chamber Ensemble
  • Meera Maharaj flute
  • Armand Djikoloum oboe
  • Mebrakh Haughton-Johnson clarinet
  • Linton Stephens bassoon
  • Francisco Gomez french horn
  • Hannah White violin
  • Natalia Senior-Brown viola
  • Ashok Klouda cello
  • Leon Bosch double bass
  • Gerard Aimontche piano

Since its foundation in 2015, Chineke! has in its various guises worked hard to champion change and celebrate diversity in classical music. Renewing the repertoire with pieces by Black composers has been part of its mission, exemplified with works by gifted figures from the UK, the US and a commission from the Aboriginal Australian Deborah Cheetham.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • William Grant Still (1895-1978)
      • Folk Suite No. 1
  • Rheinberger (1839-1901)
      • Nonet Op. 139
  • Interval
  • Deborah Cheetham (b.1964)
      • Ngarrgooroon
        • (UK première)
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
      • Nonet in F minor Op. 2

We also recommend