Tuesday 28 September 2021 7:30PM

Christian Gerhaher baritone; Isabelle Faust violin; Anne Katharina Schreiber violin; Timothy Ridout viola; Danusha Waskiewicz viola; Jean-Guihen Queyras cello; Christian Poltéra cello

Berlioz, Schoeck and Schoenberg
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


Download the PDF programme and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. The video will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the broadcast. Watch live here


  • Christian Gerhaher baritone
  • Isabelle Faust violin
  • Anne Katharina Schreiber violin
  • Timothy Ridout viola
  • Danusha Waskiewicz viola
  • Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
  • Christian Poltéra cello

Two outings for what is certain to be a popular programme given by the outstanding German baritone and his exceptional friends. Rarely heard is the substantial song cycle for baritone and string quartet (1931-3) by the Swiss composer Othmar Schoeck (1886-1937), which sets poems by Nikolaus Lenau and Gottfried Keller: Alban Berg is known to have been an admirer.

  • in partnership with and supported by the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London
  • Othmar Schoeck (1886-1957)
      • Notturno Op. 47
  • Interval
  • Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
      • Verklärte Nacht Op. 4
  • Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
      • Les nuits d'été Op. 7
        • (arranged by David Matthews for baritone and sextet)

We also recommend