Monday 24 October 2022 1:00PM

Christian Lindberg trombone; Roland Pöntinen piano

Christian Lindberg, Hindemith, Roland Pöntinen, Tchaikovsky and Weber


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Christian Lindberg trombone
  • Roland Pöntinen piano

Two top Swedish soloists – here also appearing as composers and arrangers – play one of the standard works for their duo in the shape of the 1941 sonata by the ever inventive Hindemith; whether or not the Romance by Weber is authentic remains uncertain, but trombonists have been glad of its existence. Each artist contributes one of his own works, Lindberg a trombone solo, Pöntinen a work for piano.

  • Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)
      • Sonata for trombone and piano
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
      • Romance
  • Christian Lindberg (b.1958)
      • Land of the Rising Sun
  • Roland Pöntinen (b.1963)
      • Prélude d'automne
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
      • Nutcracker Suite
        • (arranged by Christian Lindberg/Roland Pöntinen)

We also recommend