Tuesday 5 July 2022 7:00PM

City Music Foundation Gala

Celebrating the legacy of the late Sir Roger Gifford, a star-studded evening performed by Jennifer Pike, David Blackadder & Christopher Purves alongside CMF alumni.

Booking information

All tickets include champagne in the interval.

A limited number of tickets at £150 to include post-concert reception with the artists available from the City Music Foundation at [email protected]


This concert will be approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes in duration, including two intervals


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Pavel Kolesnikov piano duo
  • Samson Tsoy piano duo
  • Trio Balthasar
  • Michael Foyle violin
  • Timothy Hugh cello
  • Iain Burnside piano
  • Jennifer Pike violin
  • Emily Sun violin
  • David Blackadder trumpet
  • Helen Charlston mezzo-soprano
  • Christopher Purves bass-baritone

A star-studded evening of music performed by Jennifer Pike, Pavel Kolesnikov, Iain Burnside, David Blackadder & Christopher Purves alongside CMF alumni, this event celebrates 10 years of City Music Foundation, the legacy of the late Sir Roger Gifford, 1955-2021.

CMF equips selected outstanding musicians with the tools, skills, experience, and networks they need to build and secure rewarding careers at the stage of first encountering the challenging ‘business of music’. This has been more crucial than ever since the pandemic, throughout which we have continued to provide workshops, mentoring, websites, recordings and videos, performance opportunities, promotion and management. The aim is that CMF artists are ready for four decades or more of contributing to society’s culture and wellbeing, giving back a thousand-fold what CMF has given them.

There will be an online auction available for everyone to bid on during the evening to help raise funds for City Music Foundation.

  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
      • The Rite of Spring (version for piano 4 hands)
  • Interval
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Piano Trio No. 2 in C minor Op. 66
  • Interval
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Double Concerto for 2 violins in D minor BWV1043
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne (Eternal source of light divine) HWV74
        • Eternal source of light divine
      • Messiah HWV56
        • Behold, I tell you a mystery
        • The trumpet shall sound

We also recommend