Sunday 27 January 2013 11:30AM

Colin Carr cello; Thomas Sauer piano

Beethoven, Schubert and Rachmaninov


  • Colin Carr cello
  • Thomas Sauer piano

Colin Carr captivated Wigmore Hall audiences last season with sublime readings of Bach’s Six Cello Suites. He returns to perform three multifaceted works, captivating in their individual characters and collective contrasts.

The Arpeggione Sonata’s power was charged by the pain of Schubert’s illness and his love for life. Rachmaninov’s four-movement sonata, one of the greatest works in the cello repertoire, projects cello and piano as equals in music of romantic fervour.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • 12 Variations on a Theme from Handel's 'Judas Maccabaeus' in G major Woo45
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Sonata in A minor D821 'Arpeggione'
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19

We also recommend