Monday 28 June 2021 1:00PM

Consone Quartet

Mendelssohn and Mozart


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD and will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert. Watch live here


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


  • Consone Quartet

The Consone Quartet specialises in repertoire from the Classical era, playing on period instruments. According to Constanze Mozart, the rising string figures in the second movement of K421 corresponded to her cries during the rather painful birth of their first son, Raimund - Mozart was composing in an adjacent room at the time. Mendelssohn’s E flat quartet was written when he was only 14, just 40 years after Mozart’s quartet, but was not published until 1879.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • String Quartet in D minor K421
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • String Quartet in E flat (1823)

We also recommend