Sunday 21 September 2014 11:30AM

Cuarteto Casals

Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven


  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Vera Martínez Mehner violin
  • Meesun Hone Coleman violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello

Cuarteto Casals opens its programme with the extreme contrasts of Mozart’s Adagio and Fugue in C minor, a work that has lost none of its power to trigger vivid emotions.

The acclaimed Spanish musicians, regular guests at Wigmore Hall, also examine the intense expression of Haydn’s Op. 20 No. 5 and the restrained beauty of Beethoven’s ‘Harp’ Quartet, perhaps written as a memorial work following Haydn’s death in 1809.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809 )
        • String Quartet in F minor Op. 20 No. 5
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet No. 10 in E flat major Op. 74 'Harp'

We also recommend