Monday 11 September 2017 7:30PM

Cuarteto Casals

Beethoven and Matan Porat


  • Cuarteto Casals

Cuarteto Casals’s Beethoven Cycle opens with a work known above all for the melancholy slow introduction to its finale and continues with the composer’s concise final string quartet.

Israeli pianist and composer Matan Porat’s new quartet offers a fresh way to approach the meditative focus of the String Quartet in A minor Op. 132, completed following Beethoven’s recovery from serious illness in 1825.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in B flat major Op. 18 No. 6
        • String Quartet in F major Op. 135
  • Interval
  • Matan Porat (b.1982)
        • String Quartet 'Otzma' (world première) [1]
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 132
  1. Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend