Wednesday 4 October 2017 7:30PM

Cuarteto Casals

Beethoven and Sotelo


  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Abel Tomàs violin
  • Vera Martínez-Mehner violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello

Spanish composer Mauricio Sotelo completed his training in Vienna, a move which he describes as ‘essential to his artistic development’. His latest piece for string quartet is presented in company with the music of another composer who flourished in the city.

Cuarteto Casals surveys three works from Beethoven’s early, middle and late years in Vienna, including the sublime seven-movement Op. 131.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in C minor Op. 18 No. 4
        • String Quartet in C major Op. 59 No. 3 'Razumovsky'
  • Interval
  • Mauricio Sotelo (b.1961)
        • Quasals vB-131 (UK première)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
        • String Quartet in C sharp minor Op. 131

We also recommend