Tuesday 12 December 2017 7:30PM

Cuarteto Casals

Beethoven and Giovanni Sollima


  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Abel Tomàs violin
  • Vera Martínez-Mehner violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello

Cuarteto Casals evokes the creative originality of Beethoven’s string quartets by placing three of his pioneering works in company with a new score by the Italian composer and cellist Giovanni Sollima.

The concert concludes with the first ‘Razumovsky’ Quartet, a work that reflects on the classicism of Haydn’s quartets while looking forward to a new era of musical invention.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in D major Op. 18 No. 3
        • String Quartet in G major Op. 18 No. 2
  • Interval
  • Giovanni Sollima (b.1962)
        • String Quartet B267 (UK première)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
        • String Quartet in F major Op. 59 No. 1 'Razumovsky'

We also recommend