Saturday 2 July 2022 7:30PM

Cuarteto Casals

Haydn, Mendelssohn and Shostakovich

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Abel Tomàs violin
  • Vera Martínez-Mehner violin
  • Jonathan Brown viola
  • Arnau Tomàs cello

Founded exactly 25 years ago, the ensemble won the London International String Quartet Competition (predecessor of the Wigmore event) in 2000 and has subsequently enjoyed a career in the highest echelons of the chamber-music world. A wide range of recordings – including, recently, the entire Beethoven sequence – has been consistently well received. 'No other quartet can match this group's four-voiced marriage,' wrote The Independent, 'with its particular blend of fine-honed precision and passionate expressiveness.'

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in G minor Op. 20 No. 3
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
      • String Quartet No. 1 in C Op. 49
  • Interval
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • String Quartet No. 3 in D Op. 44 No. 1

We also recommend