Monday 17 June 2019 7:30PM

Cancelled: Cuarteto Casals; Alban Gerhardt cello

Shostakovich and Schubert

Additional notes

Cancelled Concert
Owing to illness, tonight’s concert is cancelled. There will be no replacement concert.


  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Alban Gerhardt cello

What is perhaps the most beloved of all chamber works is made possible by a second cellist joining with a string quartet to form the personnel required by Schubert’s quintet, completed during his final months. The Spanish Cuarteto Casals – formed in Madrid in 1997, but now resident in Barcelona – also perform Shostakovich’s autobiographical masterpiece.

  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 8 in C minor Op. 110
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • String Quintet in C D956

We also recommend