Friday 16 November 2018 7:30PM

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; James Newby baritone; Joseph Middleton piano

L’Invitation au Voyage

Booking information

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano
  • James Newby baritone
  • Joseph Middleton piano
  • Adam Walker flute
  • Amy Harman bassoon

A programme that takes the audience on various exotic journeys courtesy of Maurice Ravel, his predecessors and contemporaries, notably to the east in Tristan Klingsor’s oriental triptych and to the animal kingdom in Jules Renard’s witty natural histories.

  • Henri Duparc (1848-1933)
        • L'invitation au voyage
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Chansons de Bilitis
  • Henri Duparc
        • Extase
        • La vague et la cloche
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Histoires naturelles
  • Interval
  • Henri Duparc (1848-1933)
        • Phidylé
  • Claude Debussy
        • 3 mélodies
  • Maurice Ravel
        • Un grand sommeil noir (Le chat)
        • Les grands vents venus d'outremer
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Une flûte invisible
  • Maurice Ravel
      • Shéhérazade
        • La flûte enchantée
        • L'indifférent
  • Emmanuel Chabrier (1841-1894)
        • L'invitation au voyage

We also recommend