Friday 15 March 2019 7:30PM

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Julius Drake piano; Emily Berrington actor

Argento and Schumann


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Spring booking period of our 2018/19 Season are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano
  • Julius Drake piano
  • Emily Berrington actor

With regular pianist partner Julius Drake, Dame Sarah Connolly offers Dominick Argento’s cycle from Woolf’s posthumously published A Writer’s Diary, which won the composer the Pulitzer Prize in 1975, and Schumann’s moving late settings of texts attributed to Mary Stuart.

  • Dominick Argento (b.1927)
        • From the Diary of Virginia Woolf
    • Interspersed with readings from Woolf’s diary
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Gedichte der Königin Maria Stuart Op. 135
    • Interspersed with readings from Schiller’s Mary Stuart

We also recommend