Wednesday 24 October 2018 7:30PM

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Tenebrae vocal ensemble; Nigel Short conductor; Eugene Asti piano

Elgar, Gurney, Bingham and more


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano
  • Tenebrae vocal ensemble
  • Nigel Short conductor
  • Eugene Asti piano

Written for Dame Sarah Connolly and Tenebrae, Judith Bingham’s setting of Gurney’s poetry is surrounded by three of his songs, as well as valedictory pieces by Elgar and by Gurney’s friend Herbert Howells, preceding Schoenberg’s unaccompanied choral plea for peace on earth.

  • Supported by the Season Patrons who have made a major contribution to the 2018/19 Wigmore Series
  • Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
        • They are at rest
  • Ivor Gurney (1890-1937)
        • Since I believe in God the Father Almighty
        • By a Bierside
        • In Flanders
  • Judith Bingham (b.1952)
        • A Walk with Ivor Gurney
  • Herbert Howells (1892-1983)
        • Take him, earth, for cherishing
  • Ivor Gurney
        • Sleep
  • Interval
  • Hubert Parry (1848-1918)
        • Songs of Farewell
  • Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
        • Friede auf Erden Op. 13

We also recommend