Wednesday 11 May 2022 7:30PM

Danish String Quartet

Lotta Wennäkoski and Schubert


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Danish String Quartet
  • Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen violin
  • Frederik Øland Olsen violin
  • Asbjørn Nørgaard viola
  • Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin cello

An ensemble that wears its musical integrity and seriousness lightly, the group has won remarkable praise for its commitment to the classical repertoire, to 20th-century and contemporary compositions, and indeed to folk music. No programme it gives is merely conventional: a new work by the Finnish composer born in 1970 which the ensemble recently premièred in New York responds to the famous Schubert quartet that begins the programme and is followed by the ensemble’s own arrangement of the original song.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • String Quartet in D minor D810 'Death and the Maiden'
  • Interval
  • Lotta Wennäkoski (b.1970)
      • Pige
  • Franz Schubert
      • Der Tod und das Mädchen D531
        • (arranged by Danish String Quartet)

We also recommend