Friday 23 September 2022 7:30PM

Danish String Quartet

Britten, Mozart and Purcell


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Danish String Quartet Artist in Residence
  • Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen violin
  • Frederik Øland Olsen violin
  • Asbjørn Nørgaard viola
  • Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin cello

An ensemble that has excelled in the standard classics while regularly pushing the boundaries of the repertoire selects a programme focusing on two of Britten’s works for string quartet, including his Purcell arrangement; the première of the Second Quartet – which also includes a Chaconne – was given at Wigmore Hall in 1945 to mark the 250th anniversary of Purcell’s death.

  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • Chacony in G minor Z730
        • (arranged by Benjamin Britten)
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • String Quartet in E flat K428
  • Interval
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • String Quartet No. 2 in C Op. 36

We also recommend