Sunday 12 June 2016 7:30PM

Natalie Clein; Christian Ihle Hadland

Debussy, György Kurtág, Britten, Kodály and Prokofiev


  • Natalie Clein cello
  • Christian Ihle Hadland piano

Natalie Clein’s musicianship flows from her innate sensitivity and ability to express deeply felt emotions through her playing. She is joined by the thrilling young Norwegian pianist Christian Ihle Hadland in a programme of music laced with beauty and passion.

Their recital is crowned by Prokofiev’s Cello Sonata in C, a work created against the dark background of his denunciation by the Soviet authorities, and hailed by Miaskovsky as ‘a miraculous piece of music’.

  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Cello Sonata
  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
      • Signs, Games and Messages
        • Hommage à John Cage
        • Az Hit
        • Shadows (for Miklós Perényi)
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Cello Sonata in C major Op. 65
  • Interval
  • Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
        • Sonatina for Cello and Piano
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Cello Sonata in C major Op. 119
  • Encore
  • Ernest Bloch (1885-1977)
      • From Jewish Life
        • I. Prayer

We also recommend