Sunday 29 May 2022 11:30AM

Dénes Várjon piano; Izabella Simon piano

Bach, Beethoven, Schubert and Schumann


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information

£5 tickets for Under 35s supported by Media Partner Classic FM


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£16concs£14including coffee/sherry/juice

Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Dénes Várjon piano
  • Izabella Simon piano

György Kurtág and his ongoing collection Games feature in two arrangements he made of Bach cantata movements for four hands at one piano – the opening items in this programme by the husband and wife duo, both of whom are pupils of the Hungarian composer himself. Beethoven’s Great Fugue is heard in his own, long-lost transcription, rediscovered in 2005.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit BWV106
        • Sonatina (transcribed by György Kurtág)
      • O Lamm Gottes unschuldig BWV deest
        • (transcribed by György Kurtág)
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Bilder aus Osten Op. 66
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Rondo in A D951
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Grosse Fuge Op. 134

We also recommend