Saturday 26 February 2022 7:30PM

Dunedin Consort; Anna Dennis soprano; Matthew Brook baritone

The Trials of Love


Download the PDF programme and song sheet/translations here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Anna Dennis soprano
  • Matthew Brook baritone
  • Dunedin Consort
  • John Butt director, harpsichord
  • Matthew Truscott violin I
  • Sarah Bevan-Baker violin I
  • Hilary Michael violin I
  • Huw Daniel violin II
  • Rebecca Livermore violin II
  • Kristin Deeken violin II
  • John Crockatt viola
  • Oliver Wilson viola
  • Andrew Skidmore cello
  • Lucia Capellaro cello
  • Carina Cosgrave double bass
  • Katy Bircher flute
  • Alexandra Bellamy oboe
  • Oonagh Lee oboe
  • Joe Qiu bassoon

Two tales of love — both tragedies in their own ways — are brought together in this coupling of baroque cantatas. From a woman so lovestruck that she can only find solace in nature, as in Bella madre de’ fiori, to the tragic tale of Daphne, who tries and fails to resist Apollo’s advances and is transformed into a laurel tree, her branches watered forever by his tears. These extraordinary tales of passion and penitence are rendered by Handel and Scarlatti in music of searing intensity, their rapturous obbligato writing by turns, playful, poignant and seductive.

  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Concerto Grosso in D Op. 6 No. 5 HWV323
  • Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
      • Bella madre de' fiori
  • Interval
  • George Frideric Handel
      • Apollo e Dafne HWV122

We also recommend