Monday 1 April 2019 7:30PM

Ekaterina Semenchuk mezzo-soprano; Semyon Skigin piano

Glinka and Tchaikovsky

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Ekaterina Semenchuk mezzo-soprano
  • Semyon Skigin piano

The leading mezzo-soprano joins with a pianist widely acclaimed as one of the world’s leading accompanists for a programme of songs from their Russian homeland, with major cycles by Glinka, progenitor of the nationalist group The Five, and Tchaikovsky.

  • Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka (1804-1857)
        • A Farewell to St Petersburg
  • Interval
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
        • A tear trembles Op. 6 No. 4
        • To forget so soon
        • The fires in the room were already out Op. 63 No. 5
        • None but the lonely heart Op. 6 No. 6
        • It was in the early spring Op. 38 No. 2
        • The fearful moment Op. 28 No. 6
        • Frenzied nights Op. 60 No. 6
        • Death Op. 57 No. 5
        • We sat together Op. 73 No. 1
        • Does the day reign? Op. 47 No. 6

We also recommend