Friday 22 June 2018 7:00PM

Elias String Quartet

After Beethoven: National voices

Additional notes

Please note the starting time is 7:00pm

Booking information

  • This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book
  • £5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s More Information
  • Duration

    This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


    Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 administration fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

    • Elias String Quartet

    Following its deep immersion in Beethoven’s quartets, the Elias String Quartet turns to musical reflections of national identity and autobiography.

    Shostakovich’s Seventh Quartet was written in memory of his first wife, while ‘From my life’ captures the trauma of Smetana’s deafness.

    • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
    • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
          • String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor Op. 108
    • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
          • String Quartet in F major
    • Interval
    • Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884)
          • String Quartet No. 1 in E minor 'From my life'

    We also recommend