Friday 6 April 2018 7:30PM

Elias String Quartet; Richard Wigmore reader

After Beethoven: Turning inward


  • Elias String Quartet
  • Richard Wigmore reader

The Elias String Quartet contrasts works as diverse as Schumann’s sublime String Quartet in A and Kurtág’s Janáček-inspired Moments Musicaux.

Richard Wigmore joins the ensemble to read extracts from Janáček’s letters to complement the performance of his String Quartet No. 2.

  • György Kurtág (b.1926)
        • 6 Moments Musicaux Op. 44
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • String Quartet in A major Op. 41 No. 3
  • Interval
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • String Quartet No. 2 'Intimate Letters'

We also recommend