Wednesday 14 July 2021 7:30PM

Elias String Quartet; Robert Plane clarinet

Brahms and Haydn


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Elias String Quartet
  • Sara Bitlloch violin
  • Donald Grant violin
  • Simone van der Giessen viola
  • Marie Bitlloch cello
  • Robert Plane clarinet

The ensemble opens tonight’s concert with Beethoven’s famous 1809 ‘Harp’ quartet, whose nickname references the distinctive pizzicato passages in its opening. Clarinettist Robert Plane then joins the line up for Brahms’ autumnal quintet; his later interest in the clarinet is thought to be inspired by his blossoming friendship with Richard Mühlfeld.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • String Quartet in G Op. 77 No. 1 81
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op. 115

We also recommend