Monday 19 September 2022 7:30PM

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano; Staatskapelle Streichquartett



This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Elisabeth Leonskaja piano
  • Staatskapelle Streichquartett
  • Wolfram Brandl violin
  • Krzysztof Specjal violin
  • Yulia Deyneka viola
  • Claudius Popp cello

Like many of Brahms’s compositions, his First Piano Quartet occupied him over a period of years: begun in 1856, it was completed in 1861, with Clara Schumann assuming the piano part in the first performance the following year; the Rondo alla Zingarese finale is one of the composer’s many tributes to Roma music. Dating from 1861, its successor – the longest of all his chamber music compositions – shows the influence of Schubert.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Op. 26
  • Interval
      • Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor Op. 25

We also recommend