Friday 3 September 2021 7:30PM

Elizabeth Llewellyn soprano; Simon Lepper piano

Finzi, Puccini, Verdi and Walton
Live stream starts at 8:00PM


Watch this concert in HD video until 2 December 2021: Watch


  • Elizabeth Llewellyn soprano
  • Simon Lepper piano

Together with tonight’s pianist, the admired soprano recently released a much-praised CD of songs by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. Here they bring Italy and England together in one programme. The operas of Verdi and Puccini have been calling cards for Elizabeth Llewellyn around Europe; to their songs she adds one of Finzi’s Thomas Hardy collections and Walton’s celebratory cycle, first performed at Goldsmith’s Hall in 1962.

  • Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
      • Till Earth Outwears Op. 19a
  • Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924)
      • Morire?
      • Terra e mare
      • Sole e amore
      • Ad una morta
      • Sogno d'Or
      • E l'uccellino
      • Canto d'anime
  • Interval
  • Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
      • Stornello
      • Perduta ho la pace
      • Ad una stella
      • La zingara
  • William Walton (1902-1983)
      • A Song for the Lord Mayor's table
  • Encore
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
      • A song cycle
        • Life and Death
  • Charles Villiers Stanford (1852-1924)
      • A Sheaf of Songs from Leinster Op. 140
        • A soft day

We also recommend